top of page

Studying Biology Abroad

Studying abroad is challenging! In addition to keeping up with your academics, you must learn to navigate a new culture and language. I, for one, had a pretty rough start, but I learned a lot from it. In this blog post, I share my experience + some tips for success.


I decided to study abroad in Toulouse, France. My very first class began with a pop quiz. The topic: classifying plants native to the South of France - in French, might I add. Yikes. I was also supposed to have brought a pen and paper to write out my answers; only I never bring paper to class, just my laptop. So what did I do? Well, I just sat there stunned. Eventually, the professor realized I had no materials and gave me a sheet of paper. I wrote the quiz and scored 3.5/20. Obviously, I didn’t nail the first class. However, I got the hang of studying abroad after that and have condensed my tips for you here:


1. Bring basic school supplies.

At Queen’s, we tend to use our laptops for notes and assignments, but not all universities operate the same way. Come prepared.


2. Tell your professor that you’re an exchange student.

Once I told my professors that I was an exchange student, they were happy to provide me with extra help. Now, they check up on me frequently and give me additional resources.


3. Make friends.

This is probably the most important tip but the hardest to execute. Making friends as an outsider can be tricky, but a warm introduction and a genuine smile go a long way! These friends can give you notes when you miss class, and they often have excellent advice to offer.


4. Laugh at yourself.

Sometimes you’re going to mess up. And that’s okay. Laugh at your mistakes and learn from them. You’ll do great!



Best,

Bella


Bella Johnson

3rd Year Biology Student at Queen's University







17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Challenging Your Mindset

By: Veronica Voth I’ve encountered numerous personal experiences regarding burnout, exploring how others coped and their suggestions to overcoming it. Unfortunately, they felt redundant and never reso

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page