top of page

3 Things I've Learned In My First Semester of University

My first semester of university was a rollercoaster. From learning to cook and living by myself again, to finally writing in-person exams for the first time since 2019, I’ve learned so much just these past four months here. It’s important to note that each person’s university experience will be different, but I hope you can learn even a little from mine!


1. Time Management

I think one of the hardest transitions was to ensure I was using my time wisely. Gone were the days when there was a block of time designated for a course each day. Instead, schedules change day to day. It’s on you to keep yourself accountable for the work done. This can be difficult if you don’t have a system in place. I find that using a calendar that is easy to refer to helped me a lot.

I also find that there are often small breaks between each class that can be taken advantage of. During the first semester, I didn’t really take advantage of these times and just sat at the dining halls until it was almost time for the next class. These periods of time can actually be a good time to do some Quizlets in between or try to get a bit of work done.

Overall, my time management during my first semester wasn’t the greatest. For me, the newfound freedom led me to procrastinate. It’s so easy to just skip that one chem lecture until it becomes two, three lectures that you’re behind in. So, to avoid having to cram lessons that you should have done weeks ago, doing a little bit of work each day can help keep you from being in that position.


2. The University Experience University, like many experiences, depends on how much you put into it. If you want to get good grades, set aside time for studying. If your goal for university is to have fun, put work into meeting people and having these experiences. For me, my ideal experience is having a balance of both fun and work. I think it can be quite easy to be too caught up in one aspect, whether it is working or having fun, and finding the balance is key. It’s also important to know that at university, there are so many people you can learn from: the TA’s, the professors, your peers. You’re surrounded by people who come from all walks of life. I think this is the best experience when you get to learn from others who have skills you’re trying to improve upon or just learning their stories. I learned that these experiences matter just as much as your academic experience -- it’s important to also build relationships with the people around you and not just focus on studying.

There are also so many resources available to help you! Personally, I’ve taken advantage of SASS workshops and career services. There are so many more resources at Queen’s that can support you so looking out for these services are important!

3. Time Flies By

It’s surreal to know that just a few months ago, I was just meeting my roommates for the first time and getting ready for the first day of university. Time flew by so fast and it felt like an eternity ago that I was in high school, while also feeling like it was just September yesterday. With that said, enjoying the moment is important. Take advantage of these opportunities you get in University and enjoy them rather than just looking at them as a day to check off. You won’t get your first semester of university back again, so embrace it and have fun!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

My Top Tips for Studying for Exams and Midterms

As a prospective university student, university midterms and exams can seem incredibly intimidating! However, I’m here to ease your worries, and let you know that with the right studying technique, yo

How I Reset for the Semester

Finishing up a semester of school can be hard and, as we all know with every ending comes a new beginning. So how can you prepare for a new semester? Well, after three years of University I have devel

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page