top of page

5 study habits that helped me succeed

Transitioning from high school to university can be tough. Something I found quite difficult in first year was managing the amount of work from each of my classes. At times it got quite overwhelming with the amount of assignments, lectures and tests that came each week. After a couple semesters of understanding my learning style, here are 5 study habits that helped me succeed!


1. Plan and get organized!

It is so important to have some sort of agenda or calendar with all your important due dates for each class in it. Personally, I use a monthly calendar on my computer to not only have an overview of my month work wise, but also to make sure that I never miss a deadline. This seems pretty straight forward but I find this one of the most important steps that I do. I also find it helpful to write down all my assignments due each week, as well as plan out what subjects and work I will be doing each day. This really makes a difference in time management, just make sure you are being realistic about what you can accomplish each day. It can be difficult to always stay on track, but don’t get discouraged, it's important to prioritize other commitments you have and it’s okay to take a break if you need it!


2. Review slideshows/material before your lectures

Before attending my lectures, I always try to quickly skim through the material that will be covered. This really helps in understanding the topics before class, so you can understand how the class will go and what some key points to focus on are.


3. Have a group of friends that keep you accountable

I was lucky enough to make some amazing friends in my program and classes that I could study with. Having study sessions would help keep me on track with the assignments and material. Organizing study sessions with friends helped me stay motivated throughout the semester and helped combat burnout.


4. Change up you study location

As someone who cannot study at home, I always try and find new study spots on campus. This gives a nice change of scenery, studying for long periods of time can be very tiring. So, finding a good location and changing it up every so often can help make studying more fun.


5. Taking notes efficiently

I am definitely guilty of copying word for word information from modules or lectures as my main source of notes. While it is sometimes hard to pick out important information, it's important to have your notes in terms that you understand. This is helpful when you're trying to understand and memorize a lot of information, for example in anatomy and physiology courses. I also encourage to split up online modules into sections that can be completed over a couple of days, rather than cramming it all in. This will allow you to retain more content.


Hopefully some of you will find these habits helpful, it's important to find what works for you personally and understand the best way that you learn!


Good luck!

Mackayla Dabit, She/they

3rd Year Life Science Major

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Challenging Your Mindset

By: Veronica Voth I’ve encountered numerous personal experiences regarding burnout, exploring how others coped and their suggestions to overcoming it. Unfortunately, they felt redundant and never reso

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page