top of page

How to Combat the Winter Blues

As I enter my last semester of university, I know how difficult it can be to motivate yourself to do schoolwork after the winter break. Shorter days and freezing temperatures can make this time of year especially difficult. I have learned that it is really important to get out of the house, even if you are just going to the library or a coffee shop to do work. These are also opportunities to surround yourself with likeminded peers who encourage you to focus and try your best. Simply talking through a problem with my housemates, whether it be academic or personal, always helps me figure it out.

My friends and I also enjoy taking advantage of the opportunities at the ARC such as open recreational sports that allow us to get active and naturally boost our serotonin! I think that a new semester or week is an opportunity to work hard or try something new. Every Sunday I take the time to create a weekly schedule which allows me to manage my assignments while reserving time to foster my hobbies and life outside of schoolwork. I also speak from experience when I say that it is better to prioritize sleep over cramming for exams. Studies show that without sleep you can't form or maintain the pathways in your brain that let you learn, and consistently getting less than seven hours of sleep will impair your ability to concentrate.


Overall, at this time of year, it is important to cultivate routines and put in the work that will benefit you come final exam time. However, above all, no matter where you are in your academic career, remind yourself that it is ok to struggle, as your education is supposed to challenge and prepare you for the future.


You got this!

Morgan Lackey (she/her)

4th Year Chemistry Major at Queen's University

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Challenging Your Mindset

By: Veronica Voth I’ve encountered numerous personal experiences regarding burnout, exploring how others coped and their suggestions to overcoming it. Unfortunately, they felt redundant and never reso

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page