top of page

How to Maintain a Work-Life Balance

As a prospective university student, the impending freedom may seem daunting and/or exciting. In first year, I struggled to set time aside to have fun, focusing only on my studies, which left me feeling lonely and unfulfilled. This extended into my second year during the pandemic where all my days were dedicated to schoolwork. When the lockdown lifted in third year, I let my freedom get the best of me, not focusing on school, which impacted my grades. Now that I am in fourth year, I would like to think I have figured out the best balance for my life, so let me share my tips.


i. Create a schedule

Plan time for work, play, and breaks. Write a *realistic* list of what you want to get done for the day. By scheduling time away from studies, you give your brain enough time to rest and recover, supporting both mental and physical health.

ii. Prioritize relationships

It is easy to get captivated by work, but you need people to support you during tough times. Everyone is going through similar experiences, so bond with the people around you. This is the time to have fun, believe it or not, rather than when you have lots of adult responsibilities.

iii. Get active

Whether it is an intense work out or relaxing stretches before bed, 30-60 minutes of movement a day is important to help with blood flow and sleep.

iv. Do something you enjoy every day

Get involved in clubs or find a hobby because now is the time to explore your interests and find yourself beyond academics.

v. Do not be afraid to seek help

There are resources around campus for any kind of help you need. Whether it be physical, mental, spiritual, or academic, someone is there to help. Student Wellness can help you locate the right resources.

vi. Be kind to yourself

University is hard. Everyone struggles with different things, so even if you make a mistake or don’t get everything done that you wanted to, remember that you are human, and this is all a learning experience.


The university experience is what you make it, and although these are my tips to maintaining a work-life balance, it is important to figure out what works best for you! I wish you all the best of luck in your future academic endeavors.


You've got this!











Morgan Lackey

4th year Chemistry Major at Queen's University

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Challenging Your Mindset

By: Veronica Voth I’ve encountered numerous personal experiences regarding burnout, exploring how others coped and their suggestions to overcoming it. Unfortunately, they felt redundant and never reso

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page